Break me into bigger pieces, so some of me is home with you.

Hotel Fitness!! (Sarcastic) Yay!!!

I’m not nearly as excited as that title might suggest!!!!!

The hotel I choose to stay in during my business travel is the best.  It’s got an ideal location to major freeways.  It’s in very close proximity to several restaurants  providing many options for both chain and local flavor.  It’s near the airport and has a complimentary breakfast.  It even has underground, heated parking for free.

But the fitness center sucks.

Apparently I don’t care enough to stay at a different hotel, but I do care enough to complain about it.

This inconvience has forced me to become very creative with my workouts while traveling.  (And a quick note on this: If I can’t fit a work out into my business travel, I go nuts.  Traveling inspires the most healthy people to eat like crap.  I spend most of my business travel days driving around and sitting in coffee shops, milking free internet.  Also, working.  But for me to remain sane, I have to fit in a workout as often as I can.)

I now know how many stairs lie between the Springhill Suites Chicago O’Hare basement and 10th floor.  A fitting number, 187.  (Fitting because, legend has it, 187 is the cop code for murder.  Yeah, I’d classify 10 floor stair-repeats as murder.)

I do step-ups on the treadmill and ski jumps over towels.  The ceiling is too low and when I do burpies I practically punch through the tiles above me.  On the weekends, I walk aimlessly through the city, hoofing it waayyyyy further than a typical commuter might in an effort to counteract the hours of sitting behind the wheel and eating unhealthy food.

I’m glad this will be my last travel season 🙂

2 responses

  1. Kathy Garcia AKA Mom

    Glad you’ll be back home to your mountains in a couple of days. 🙂

    April 10, 2013 at 7:39 pm

  2. kevindmcclelland

    LAST TRAVEL SEASON! Congrats. Enjoy it. If you can. Ha.

    April 11, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

