Break me into bigger pieces, so some of me is home with you.

How I (really) got to Africa

Yes, I was able to get to Africa through a generous grant through Cancer Climber.  But there’s another very important factor that got me there.

You.

Yes, you, reader.

Just a sampling of all the “Get well soon” and “Congratulations, you’re well!” cards and letters from friends and family. These covered my bed and there were plenty more stacked on the corner. You guys are amazing.

Over the years, I collected all of the ‘Get well soon’ and ‘Congratulations, you’re healthy’ cards that were given to my family and I.  They took up space and were always a bit cumbersome to move with.  They would collect dust and add to the clutter in my apartment or house.  But I couldn’t bring myself to get rid of them.  They had a hold on me, and still do.  The gesture of a simple, folded piece of paper with a cheesy saying on it meant so much to me, and still does.

That’s why I’ve kept all of them.

Thank you all.

You’re my motivation to get up the mountain.  You’re my motivation to get up each day.  You’re my motivation to keep climbing and keep fighting.

Thank you Julian at Boulder Granola.

Thank you Rob at Acli-mate.

Thank you Western State College of Colorado co-workers for taking up the slack while I’m gone.

Thanks SJohnson, for watching Friday.

Thank you friends.

And most importantly, thank you family.

2 responses

  1. Garrison, you were an amazing 8th grade writer and you remain the same amazing writer today. I love following your journey.

    July 18, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    • I couldn’t have done it without an amazing 8th grade English teacher.

      July 22, 2012 at 6:24 am

Leave a Reply

