Break me into bigger pieces, so some of me is home with you.

How did this happen?

Everyone does it:  get to work, start sipping your coffee and peruse the happening on Facebook.  It was during this morning ritual when I came across the following post from Sean Swarner:

Anyone know of a cancer survivor who’d like to hike Kilimanjaro? They could qualify for an Adventure Support Grant through CancerClimber and go FREE!! email us: info@cancerclimber.org We’ve received a number of emails and making the decision will be made soon…

…and I thought to myself, “I know me, and I’d like to do that.  I’d LOVE to do that.  I’VE GOTTA DO THAT!”

I jumped on it.  I was given directions on how to apply and started working on my essay immediately.

I enjoy writing.  I really enjoy writing about things for which I have passion.  I put a lot of passion and effort into the essay I submitted to CancerClimber and was really proud of the result.  (Maybe I’ll put a post up with some off my essay in it…)

Honestly, though, I think the picture I submitted sealed the deal.  I have a ridiculously adorable dog.  So, of course, I had to find a good picture that had her in it.  How could you say no to a face like Friday’s?

The essay and picture were submitted and I began the waiting game.

A few weeks later I received an email from Sean:

I wanted to personally reach out to you and see how your schedule was looking for July 14 – 29?  I wanted to congratulate you on your survivorship and say thank you for being one of my inspirations and for giving me hope.  what you’ve been able to accomplish since your diagnosis is quite impressive and I’d love to hear about your adventures!! 

What.  Is.  This.  I don’t even.

We’ve had a number of essays submitted and after reading through them all, our review board has decided that you seem to be the most logical and most qualified, as well as the most deserved person for the CancerClimber 2012 Africa/Kilimanjaro Adventure.

Um.  What.

What.

Is this.  Is this real?

uh.

And then: unbridled, jubilant celebration and rejoicing commenced.

Since then, it’s been early morning runs, hikes up 14ers and long bike rides.

I feel strong, confident and well prepared.

Almost all of the logistics (ie, gear, vaccinations, travel) have been worked out and I’m staring down the barrel of the last week before departure.

CancerClimber, you rock.

If you wish to donate to the cause, please visit:

http://www.crowdrise.com/KilimanjaroExpedition2012/fundraiser/cancerclimber

Thanks for all your support folks.

Leave a Reply

