Break me into bigger pieces, so some of me is home with you.

Long road ahead

I’m feeling good after training day number one.  Friday and my friend Danielle kept me company (and from slacking.)  It was a beautiful afternoon at the Big Green Monster.  The workout looked like this:

Warm-up

  • Walking body squats
  • Knee pulls
  • Quad pulls
  • Spiderman lunges
  • Shoulder swings/rotations

Hill sprints

  • 7 hill sprints, 1 minute rest between

Plyometric work

  • Body jumps 3×10
  • Lunges 3×10 each leg
  • Burpies 3×10

Core

  • Crunches 3×25
  • Bicycle 3×25
  • V-sit 3×30 seconds
  • Plank 30 seconds
  • Side full arm plank 2×30 seconds each arm

Hill sprints are a great way to gain fitness fast.  I plan to do a circut like this each Tuesday and Thursday, with a bike ride or run on Wednesday.  Mondays and Fridays will be rest, and the weekends will have me doing a long hike or ride to get some endurance cardio in.

I have a lot of work to do, and not much time to do it.  I’ll need to be diligent and consistant.  In that vain, I’m going to meet with Dr. Scott Drumm today.  Drumm has advised me on training for big events in the past and has agreed to give me some exercise and nutrition pointers for Kili.  I’m looking forward to what he has to share.

“This is all so new. And we are so in need of it, a new rain. My clothes become wet, and goggles are spattered, and chills start to feel delicious…I am a pioneer now, looking onto the promised land.” -Robert M. Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Mainenance

Leave a Reply

