Break me into bigger pieces, so some of me is home with you.

Training day

I got the email yesterday.  “What does your schedule look like for July 14-29?”

Here we go.  Kilimanjaro.

To tell you the truth, I had started to become comfortable with the idea that I had not been chosen.  I was still compulsively checking my phone for a new email, sure, but because I hadn’t heard anything on Friday I assumed I was staying local this summer.

I assumed wrong.

I’ll go into that a bit further at another time.

Today, I have to train.

I didn’t have any exotic goals on my list this summer.  Climb a few 14ers, go on a few epic bike rides.  Camp.  Climb.  Raft.  Kilimanjaro?  Yeah, right!  Er, actually.  Yeah.  Right.

So it’s time to shake a leg.  Burpies, hill sprints, take it easy on the beer.

Here goes nothing…

Leave a Reply

